It was fun to surprise my girl

At WordCamp US 2015 our daughter fell in love with Wapuu! She especially enjoyed the coins designed by Marktime media and distributed by GoDaddy.

So, when I saw a tweet about a crochet pattern for Wapuu I decided it was time to give crocheting amugurumi a try. You can read the article about the pattern too.

And, here’s the post from the creator. It’s fun to hear her version of how the pattern came about.

It’s so cool that the person who created the pattern made it available free for others to use. Not surprising, because that totally fits the WordPress community mentality, but cool in this time of lots of paid patterns available.

Doing something new with crochet was fun, and seeing her excitement as I finished the various parts was awesome. I was going to make it all a total surprise, but left it on the couch and she saw the pattern and figured out what I was making. After that she kept asking how each part was coming. It was fun to watch my progress together.

I have seen lots of pictures of amugurumi before, but just hadn’t ventured into giving it a try myself yet. Amugurumi is a knitted or crocheted stuffed toy.  While not perfect I think it turned out pretty well for a first effort. As time allows I may try some more animals or more Wapuus, we’ll see 🙂

You can see lots more pictures of Wapuu online.

Leave a Reply

