Fair fun with Threads

This year, for the first time,  Threads of Compassion OKC  scarf donations were included as a category in the Oklahoma State Fair. It took 3 of us working together with the fair officials to get all the information in on time, but we did it!

img_20160915_164330

It was so cool to see our work on display at the fair last week. Reading the tags on the 36 scarves displayed and realizing that I didn’t know most of them was really neat, too. That showed that by being listed in the fair program more people heard about Threads. What a cool way to spread awareness about it.

This was the first time I entered anything in a fair since I was a kiddo participating in 4-H. Way back when some of my family and I went to a day camp in the summer that included making stuff to enter in the fair. The only thing I can remember seeing displayed is some cookies we made one year. As I remember it, my cousin’s bag of cookies had turned to a mostly liquid form by the time we saw it, not a pretty sight.

And, I’ll admit, seeing a ribbon on my knitted scarf was kind of amazing, it was the first scarf I’d knitted and I really didn’t expect it to be worthy of an award, I just did it because I could and I wasn’t sure we’d have many submissions so I figured the more I could do the better.

So, while the reason for the scarves continues to be heartbreaking, the fun of working with others to offer support continues to be an encouragement. I’m hopeful that we can do this again next year, and that someday the violence will end and we’ll have to find another charity to donate to because Threads won’t be needed anymore. Until then, we’d love to have you join us if you can.

 

One thought on “Fair fun with Threads

Leave a Reply

